top of page

My TS LIfe in the Netherlands - by Leanne


My name is Leanne, and I am 65 years old. I worked for 41.5 years as a laboratory technician. I was diagnosed with TS at the age of 16. The symptoms started earlier, in kindergarten. I often fell asleep in class. It turned out this was because I had difficulties hearing. It takes so much of your energy to listen carefully. I was exhausted. I then went to a school specially for the hearing impaired. Here I was at the right place!


Due to my father’s job, we moved house quite a lot, every 2 or 3 years. That meant changing schools frequently. When I was at high school, my mother took me to a specialist because I didn’t get into puberty. The doctor hospitalized me for 3 days. Blood and urine tests were taken. I also had a gynecological exam. This was a very devastating experience. I was 16 at the time and, besides the doctor, there were about 6 medical students around my bed. This is not something a 16 year old girl should experience.


At school, it turned out I did well, especially in languages. When I repeat something regularly, I become quite good at it. I went to laboratory school and worked in a hospital for 41.5 years. Nightshifts weren’t my thing, and they let me do things I was best in.


I get medical treatment for the thyroid gland, hypertension, and I developed type 2 diabetes. There are several Turner syndrome (TS) clinics in the Netherlands. They have great knowledge about TS. Girls and women with Turner syndrome are assessed every 1or 2 years. I have some friends with TS. I find it difficult to maintain friendships. There is a TS group in the Netherlands. We get together quite a lot and do nice things and talk about our experiences.


My hobbies are traveling, reading, cycling, museums, classical music, and musicals. I prefer to read books in the language they are written in; this way the story tells you more. For example, I have read the Harry Potter books in English, not in Dutch. Now I am retired and am still in contact with some of my co-workers. We go out for lunch or go to the cinema, or even go to the zoo. So, this is my TS story. I apologize in advance if it is not correct English; it is not my first language.


Коментарі


Featured Posts
No posts published in this language yet
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page